Skip to Main Content

Sex Offender Division

Sex offenders are required to register in Arkansas.  Details on the Sex Offender Registration Act of 1997 can be found in Arkansas Code Annotated 12-12-901 -- 12-12-920

Who is Required to Register?

  • Any individual who is convicted of certain sex offenses and offenses against children if the conviction occurred as of the Act's effective date, or
  • Any individual who was incarcerated, on probation or parole, or serving any other form of community supervision as the result of an adjudication of guilt for the listen offenses as of this Act's effective date, or 
  • Any person who is acquitted on the grounds of mental disease or defect for the listed offenses as of the Act's effective date, or
  • Any person who was required to register under the prior Act, the Habitual Child Sex Offender Registration Act, Arkansas Code Annotated 12-12-901, or
  • Any sex offender moving to or returning to this state from another jurisdiction where registration is required.  Such offenders shall register with the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction within 3 business days of establishing residency.


There are 4 levels of Sex Offenders. Each level is briefly explained below:

Level 4 Sex Offender

Sexual Violent Predator.  Person who has been adjudicated guilty of a sex offense or acquitted on the grounds of mental disease or defect of a sex offense that makes the person likely to engage in predatory sex offenses.  The designation indicates that the highest and most visible means of community notification is required.

Level 3 Sex Offender

High Risk.  Typically offenders in this category have a history of repeat sexual offending, and/or strong antisocial, violent or predatory personality characteristics.  These are individuals whose offense and criminal history require notification throughout the community.  Offenders who appear for the assessment under the influence of alcohol, illegal drugs or who fail to timely disclose the use of medications, individuals who fail to appear for any phase of the assessment, individuals who are aggressive, threatening, or disruptive to the point that SOSRA staff cannot proceed with the assessment process, and individuals who voluntarily terminate the assessment process having been advised of the potential consequences will be classified as being a Level 3 or referred to SOAC for Sexually Violent Predator status.

Level 2 Sex Offender

Moderate Risk.  Typically offenders in this category have a history of sexually offending where notification inside the home is insufficient.  Community notification requires notice to the offender's known victim preference and those likely to come into contact with the offender.

Level 1 Sex Offender

Low Risk.  Typically offenders in this category have no prior history of sexual offending and the community can be protected with notification inside the home and to local law enforcement authorities.